Safety Excellence Award Winners Circle

Honoring outstanding patient safety efforts and initiatives

ECRI and the Institute for Safe Medication Practices PSO’s Safety Excellence Award is presented each year to recognize outstanding patient safety efforts and initiatives undertaken by member healthcare institutions to improve safety-related outcomes for patients, families, visitors, and staff.

The winner was chosen based on the characteristics of their safety initiative:

  • Impact: achievement of a significant level of improvement
  • Culture of safety: promotion of key elements of organizational culture of safety
  • Scale: reproducibility and scalability of initiative
  • Innovation: innovative use of ECRI and the ISMP PSO and other resources and approach to drive improvement

Read our press release to learn more.

2022 Award Winner

Monument Health, Rapid City, SD

Monument Health, a community-based health system, set a strategic goal to improve culture of safety, increase incident and near miss event reporting, and increase and enrich discussions about safety throughout the organization. Their efforts, which included implementation of a multi-prong Safety Culture program of tiered huddles, good catch reporting, Just Culture, and patient safety coaches, resulted in a 334% increase of near-miss reporting.

2022 Honorable Mentions

Carilion Clinic, Roanoke, VA
Unity Point St. Luke’s, Cedar Rapids, IA

Previous Award Winners

2021 Award Winner

Jefferson Health, Philadelphia, PA
Jefferson Health’s created an initiative to introduce a true integrated safety management system, with a framework that leverages and cascades learnings from both success and failure in one hospital, across all 14 hospitals. Through this initiative, Jefferson Health designed an integrated network of centralized tools and processes that starts with a single event reporting platform and created a tiered daily huddle system that escalates small signals in one hospital and cascades the information throughout our health system for awareness, triage, and stop gap mitigation of emergent safety risks.

2021 Honorable Mentions

  • Cooper University Health Care, Camden, NJ
  • BayCare Health System, Tampa, FL