Patient Safety and Quality Improvement Act

May 1, 2014 | Aging Services Risk Management


Entities and individuals licensed or authorized under state law to provide healthcare services are "providers" eligible to participate in a PSO. This means that the following may participate: hospitals, nursing facilities, home health agencies, hospice programs, long-term care facilities (including state-licensed or state-authorized assisted-living residential care facilities that provide healthcare services), pharmacies, behavioral health residential treatment facilities, renal dialysis facilities, clinical laboratories, health centers, and physician and healthcare practitioner practices. Providers in states that have excluded some categories of healthcare entities from state law privilege statutes have an opportunity to gain broad privilege protection by participating in a PSO.

Also eligible for participation are individual providers such as physicians, physician assistants, registered nurses, nurse practitioners, clinical nurse specialists, certified registered nurse anesthetists, certified nurse-midwives, psychologists, certified social workers, registered dieticians and nutrition professionals, physical and occupational therapists, pharmacists, and others.

![](/_layouts/images/icppt.png)View as PowerPoint slide

![Figure. Intended Flow of Information to...

Access Full Content

Contact us today at 610.825.6000.